Fish market, Seoul

When I lived in Korea, I was so unadventurous in my culinary, um, adventures. I found approximately two dishes that I liked and ordered them over and over again. As much as I love fish, I simply could not accept two things: dried fish, which was often served in soup for breakfast at the place I was teaching at (as we were way out in the country, there were no alternatives. I soon began skipping breakfast), and dried cuttlefish, a popular snack to munch on at the movies.

It wasn’t the taste, but the smell. Oh, the smell! The only thing that smelled worse was – for me – bundigy aka silk worm larvae, another popular snack that was sold out of huge steaming vats on the street. HOWEVER: despite my stomach-turning experiences with these particular foods, Korean remains my favourite cuisine.

One comment on “Fish market, Seoul”


Leave a Reply

